A New Blog For A New Season

24 Jul
Stepping Stones 3

(by Stephen Eastop)

Welcome to my first post on this new blog!

Even though I’ve been blogging (inconsistently) for the last three years and currently have two (semi) active blogs, I’m starting this new blog that focuses off the family and off myself (which is always a good thing). I’m so excited for this new adventure and so glad that you’re here to join me in it.

Why a blog?

People will often ask, “Why are you blogging?” Well there’s a couple different reasons why a blog is the perfect place to be now.

First off, I’m the kind of person that processes life verbally or through journaling. But as useful as those two means of working out the details of life are, sometimes what you want is feedback, to see what others think about that same topic. Second, being a Work-at-Home-Mom (WAHM) is very isolating. I need to get out and stretch my wings without having to physically get out (although there are those days that I do need to do that). The third reason is that throughout my life I’ve found myself being the person others come to for advice. I don’t know if it’s because they mistake me as a wiser person or if I carry myself like an older sister and someone who knows what they’re doing. (I’ll tell you a secret, I’m actually the youngest sister in my family.)

So, what better way to share with everyone the tidbits of my passions, experiences and knowledge than through a blog.

If you already have blogs, why are you starting another one?

Well the answer is simple. My first blog is all about my family. As much as I love my family, I don’t think a whole lot of people want to hear the new words my daughter is saying or the details of my other daughters first day of Preschool. Also, I’ve had second thoughts about how much information to share about my daughters (who in a blink of an eye will be teenage girls) on the internet and so that one has become a place to make the here and there announcement to faraway family. The second one, well, that blog is a little more introspective and personal, having to do with writing as worship and a lot of faith geared topics (see more journaling).

So, what do I do if I want to write about Mom, Money, Design and Organizing stuff? Well, why not start a new blog with a new format, a new look and totally new topics.

So, what is this blog going to be about?

I’ve  thought about the things I love and the things I love to read in others blog, and then I thought about where my strengths lie. So, I’ve decided to write about what I know, which also happens to be all of those things that make me smile and hopefully in turn will make you smile  – being a Mom, living a life not ruled by stuff, creative design and anything having to do with organizing.

Ultimately I want to live an abundant, love filled and balanced life and hope to help others do the same.

4 Responses to “A New Blog For A New Season”

  1. corriespondent July 29, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Added to RSS reader! Although one personal preference is that I like to see the full post in my RSS reader – I don’t like having to click over to the actual blog. In fact, I almost never click over and just read the first paragraph or so, unless it’s a friend (like you) or something that sounds useful on Lifehacker.

    • gilspencer July 30, 2010 at 6:00 am #

      Oh, do I have it setup to do something different? Ha lol. Just goes to show you that these really are my first posts for a wordpress blog (that people read). I’m all ears… how do I change that?

      • corriespondent August 1, 2010 at 9:42 am #

        Settings > Reading in left column, I think. Also, you can go to Appearance > Widgets to add more things in the right column… such as “recent comments.”

        • gilspencer August 2, 2010 at 4:45 am #

          Thanks, I found it and it worked like a charm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

