My 2011 Non-Resolutions

6 Jan

2011 is here! School has started, routines are falling back into place and everyone is posting their New Year’s Resolution. For myself, I don’t really like resolutions. Mostly because they tend to be too “big”, too unmeasurable and hard to stick with for a whole year. That’s more like a super-challenge and I don’t think I quite have the discipline to go that far. Instead, I’ve been thinking about some goals to work towards (and of course, being “planner-organizer” me, some steps to help me get there). You can call them resolutions if you want, but I’m going to call them my Non-Resolutions.

In no particular order, here they are:

  1. Not talk without thinking.
    I will try to guard my “words and tongue” so as not to cause harm or hurt (especially when it comes to my husband and children) by practicing thinking before speaking, watching my tone and keeping the quickfire comebacks/comments to myself.
    Steps to help me accomplish this: 

    • Take a nightly inventory of what I said (generally), what I should not have said and how I would do it better tomorrow (or next time, if it’s a specific incident/conversation).
    • Journal it, so I can look back and see progress. A natural self-encouragement that it is worth it.

    “Watch your words and hold your tongue;
    you’ll save yourself a lot of grief.”

    Proverbs 21:23 The Message

  2. Not try to do it all on my own and in my own strengths.
    I think this is hard for me as I like to be in control, I’m a mom (so I tend to be mommy-planning/running a lot of the family details) and I have a hard time asking for help (and then giving up whatever I’ve delegated). It’s not really my personality. But this isn’t sustainable, and tends to cause burnout for me, trust issues with my husband and isn’t the way life was intended to be lived.
    So instead, I will try to trust in God for all things, covering everything in prayer… and do it first and often. Then I’ll be better positioned to trust others and to really go with whatever happens this next year (of course, still with me planning but open to other possibilities/outcomes).
    Steps to help me accomplish this:

    • Pray!
    • Including this in my nightly journaling should help me to “remember” to do it and allow me to also look back and record when God answers me.

    “Trust in the LORD with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;

    in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.”

    Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

    “Do your best, prepare for the worst—
    then trust God to bring victory.”

    Proverbs 21:31 The Message

  3. Not eat junk, be stationary and sleep deprived.
    Basically – Eat, Exercise and Sleep healthily for myself and my family.
    Steps to help me accomplish this:

    • Sleep at a reasonable hour (probably 10-10:30pm as my girls like to get up between 6:30-7am) and get up when it’s “time” (6:30am at the latest).
    • Try for three days a week of light exercise. That could be a simple walk, a quick video exercise video (of course, after the baby is born, I’m not that crazy) or a game with my girls that requires some running around/cardio.
    • Get back to weekly family meal planning (that we did consistently in the summer but it got derailed when my husband started cooking 80% of the meals). And make sure that includes healthy snacks, healthy carbs and a lot of vegetables.

Now that I’ve shared those all with you. I give you permission to ask me about them, get on my case if you don’t think I’m sticking to them and generally hold me accountable.

So, what are your Resolutions/Non-Resolutions for 2011? I’d love to hear them and help you stay on track this year too. Share them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

